NSW Subclass 491 to be opened shortly

NSW 491 open soon

Applications for NSW nomination for the Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491) will soon be open. There is currently a delay in the program opening in NSW. Payment links will be made available on this website after applications have opened. Any documents submitted before applications have opened will not be considered.

Once NSW Subclass 491 visa open, it will be managed entirely within the NSW Government and applications can be made directly to NSW Treasury. NSW nominates applicants for the 491 visa to support the regional industries and economies of NSW through the provision of skilled talent. NSW’s management of the new 491 visa aims to deliver strong, strategic outcomes for regional NSW through General Skilled Migration program.

NSW Government has a strong commitment to regional growth and the 491 visa will sit alongside several other government initiatives that aim to increase regional NSW’s attraction as a highly desirable place to live, work and do business.

The occupations eligible for NSW nomination are selected to meet the skills needs of the NSW economy across a range of industry sectors. We will regularly update these occupations according to the skills needs in NSW.

Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491)

The Commonwealth Department of Home Affairs announced this new points-tested visa to assist regional Australia, for applicants with an eligible skilled occupation, nominated by a state or territory government agency which came into effect in November 2019.

The new Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491) has replaced the Skilled Regional Nominated visa (subclass 489).

Specific details regarding eligible occupations and postcodes designated as regional areas can be found on the Department of Home Affairs’ website.

About this visa

The new Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491) will enable eligible skilled workers and their families to live, work and study in designated regional areas of Australia for five years. Visa holders will be eligible to apply for a Permanent Residence visa after three years. Applicants for this visa must be nominated by an Australian state or territory government agency or sponsored by an eligible family member residing in a designated regional area and be invited to apply for the visa, following submission of an Expression of Interest (EOI) in SkillSelect.

Source: https://www.business.nsw.gov.au/live-and-work-in-nsw/visas-and-immigration/skilled-work-regional-visa-subclass-491

Free Immigration Assessment

Find out your options for visa by completing a free online assessment.