Australian Immigration Points Concept

Australian Immigration New Policies & Changes 2022 - 23

Australian Immigration Points Concept

Australian Immigration Points concept derived from SkillSelect system which is points based where applicants receive points against the different factors. Applicants must score a minimum of 65 points to become an eligible candidate. The following details will give you a general idea that how points are awarded for Skilled Visas of Australia (Subclass 189, 190, 491).

You can evaluate yourself through our online points calculation for Australian Immigration Points.


Australian Immigration Points Criteria

Factor 1: Age (maximum 30 points):

You’ll get points based on your age on the day we get your application.

Factor 2: English Language skills (maximum 20 points):

It’s very important to be able to communicate in English and get a required score in IELTS, PTE-Academic, CAE or TOEFL. The proficiency divided into three parts; competent, proficient and superior and it will give you points based on your ability to write, read, listen & speak.

Those from native English speaking countries and applicants who have been awarded a tertiary degree (equivalent to an Australian Bachelor’s degree or higher qualification) from a University where English is the main language do not need to take an English language proficiency test.

Factor 3: Overseas Skilled employment (maximum 15 points):

Applicants are awarded points for employment experience in a skilled occupation, either in Australia or another country. Experience must be in a nominated occupation on Australia’s Skilled Occupations List or an occupation that is closely related to earn points for skilled employment, and must have been gained within the last ten years.

Points are awarded separately for skilled employment experience gained within Australia and elsewhere. Points from both tables can be combined, but the maximum total points award for skilled employment is 20 points.

Factor 4: Educational qualifications (maximum 20 points):

Points are awarded for the applicant’s highest qualification only. For example, if the applicant has both a doctorate and a Bachelor’s degree points will only be awarded for the doctorate. In order to be awarded points any qualifications must be related to the applicant’s nominated occupation, and must be recognised as comparable to Australian qualifications; This will usually be verified during the skills assessment for the applicant’s nominated occupation.

Factor 5: Australian qualifications (maximum 05 points):

If the education is completed from an Australian educational institution then these points can be claimed. The course of study must have been at least two years in length.

Factor 6: Regional study (maximum 05 points):

Applicants are awarded another points if they meet the two-year study requirement while living and studying in a Regional Australia/low population growth metropolitan area of Australia.

Factor 7: Community language skills (maximum 05 points):

Applicants can claim these points if they have translator/interpreter level language skills in one of Australia’s designated community languages. These skills must be recognised by Australia’s National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI). It usually conduct in Australia.

Factor 8: Spouse/partner skills and qualifications (maximum 10 points):

If the applicant is married and spouse/partner is included on the visa application, and is not an Australian resident/citizen, their education, experience and language skills can give you additional points. In order to gain points the spouse/partner must have positive skills assessment in nominated occupation and competent English language proficiency.

Factor 9: Spouse/partner English proficiency (maximum 05 points):

If the applicant is married and spouse/partner is included on the visa application, and is not an Australian resident/citizen, their competent English language skills can give you additional points.

Factor 10: Marital Status (maximum 10 points):

From November 2019, Australia gives you 10 more points if your marital status is single or your spouse is Australian citizen or permanent resident.

Factor 11: Professional year (maximum 10 points):

Applicants also score 5 points if they have completed an approved Professional Year in Australia in the last 4 years. A Professional Year is a structured professional development program which combines formal training with on-the-job experience. The professional year must have been in their nominated occupation or a closely related occupation.

Factor 12: Nomination and sponsorship (Subclass 190 and Subclass 491 only)

Skilled Nominated Subclass 190 is an option for permanent residency on Skilled Immigration visa. It requires sponsorship from state or territory government. Every state or territory also has its own requirements and occupation in demand list so in order to applying the specific state or territory, thorough research is essential. Migrants have to live or work at least 2 years in nominated state or territory out of 5 years visa as an obligation.

Skilled Regional Provisional Subclass 491 is a 5-year provisional visa allows to migrants live and work in certain areas (regions) of Australia. For this visa, sponsorship can taken from an eligible Australian relative living in designated area or by a state or territory government.  Migrants have to spend at least 3 years in designated area out of 5 years then they can be eligible to become permanent resident.


Free Immigration Assessment

Find out your options for visa by completing a free online assessment.